ItivuttakaItv 105 Taṇhuppāda Sutta
Arousing Craving

The Buddha explains four types of craving that arise in a monk.

This discourse was taught by the Blessed One, taught by the Arahant, the fully enlightened Supreme Buddha. This is as I heard,

“Monks, four things arouse craving. When a monk’s craving arises, it is due to these four things. What are the four?

A monk’s craving arises for the sake of robes, sake of food, sake of a dwelling place, or for the sake of gaining various desirable things.”

This is the meaning of what the Blessed One said. So, with regard to this, it was said:

With craving as his companion, a person wanders on a long journey in this cycle of rebirths. That is why he cannot go beyond birth in this life or to another in this cycle.

Having thus understood the danger, that craving is the cause of suffering, a monk lives mindfully, free from craving and without clinging.

This, too, is the meaning of what was said by the Blessed One. This is exactly as I heard.

Three Bar Menu Button

Itivuttaka 105 Taṇhuppāda Sutta: Arousing Craving

Explore other suttas with these topics:

Have a question?

Do you have a question about what you have read?