ItivuttakaItv 95 Kāmupapatti Sutta
Sense Pleasures

The Buddha explains three sense pleasures that can be obtained and how one must abandon them by understanding reality.

This discourse was taught by the Blessed One, taught by the Arahant, the fully enlightened Supreme Buddha. This is as I heard,

“Monks, there are three sense pleasures that may be obtained. What three? Sense pleasures that are always present, sense pleasures of those who delight in creating pleasures (sense pleasures of Nimmānarati gods), and sense pleasures of those with control over what is created by other gods (sense pleasures of Paranimmita Vasavatti gods).

These, monks, are the three sense pleasures that may be obtained.”

This is the meaning of what the Blessed One said. So, with regard to this, it was said:

Those who enjoy sense pleasures, which are always present, those gods in Vasavatti heaven, in Nimmānarati heaven, and other beings who enjoy sense pleasures in this state, here or anywhere else, do not go beyond the cycle of rebirths.

Understanding the danger in sense pleasures, the wise person abandons all sense pleasures, whether human or divine. Although it is difficult, he abandons greed for lovely, pleasing sense pleasures. He overcomes suffering without remainder and, upon passing away, attains the ultimate freedom.

Having fully understood the Four Noble Truths, the wise person reaches the ultimate goal of the Dhamma. This wise one possesses noble vision. By directly knowing the end of birth he will never be born again.

This, too, is the meaning of what was said by the Blessed One. This is exactly as I heard.

Three Bar Menu Button

Itivuttaka 95 Kāmupapatti Sutta: Sense Pleasures

Explore other suttas with these topics:

Have a question?

Do you have a question about what you have read?