When we read the Buddha’s teachings, we may need to learn some new words. Here is the meaning of some of the words that may be new to you. If you are still unsure about a lot of words, you may want to install some dictionary software.

If you are looking for suttas on a certain topic, check out the subject index.

  • factors of enlightenment

    There are seven enlightenment factors(bojjhaṅga): mindfulness (satisambojjhaṅga), investigation of phenomenon (dhammavicayasambojjhaṅga), energy (vīriyasambojjhaṅga), rapture (pītisambojjhaṅga), tranquility (passaddhisambojjhaṅga), concentration (samādhisambojjhaṅga), equanimity (upekkhāsambojjhaṅga)
  • far shore

    The Supreme Buddha often called Nibbāna "the far shore" and saṁsara "the near shore."
  • fetters

    A fetter is a chain that ties up a prisoner. There are ten fetters (saṁyojana) that bind us to saṁsara. As we remove them, we attain the stages of enlightenment. The fetters are 1. identity view 2. doubt 3. distorted grasp of rules and vows 4. sensual desire 5. ill will 6. lust for form 7. lust for the formless 8. conceit 9. restlessness and 10. ignorance.
  • five groups of clinging

    The five (pañca) groups of clinging (upādanakkhandha) are form (rūpa), feeling (vedanā), perception (saññā), formations (sankhāra), and consciousness (viññāṇa).
  • five kinds of worldly pleasures

    Good things to see, hear, smell, taste, and touch.
  • five precepts

    1) Not killing 2) not stealing 3) not committing sexual misconduct 4) not lying 5) not using drugs or alcohol. The Buddha asked his lay disciples to keep these at all times.
  • formations

    Form, feelings, perceptions, thoughts and consciousness.
  • Four Divine Abidings

    The Supreme Buddha taught us four special ways to think that give us happiness and train the mind for attaining Nibbāna. Mettā: Loving-kindness Karunā: Compassion Muditā: Rejoicing or Appreciative Joy Upekhā: Equanimity
  • four great oceans

    Now we can think of the four great oceans as the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian and Arctic.
  • four winds

    The four winds are winds from the north, south east, and west.
  • fully enlightened

    When we say that someone is fully, supremely, or perfectly enlightened, it means that the became enlightened on their own without a teacher and they are able to teach others to become enlightened. This is the quality of a Buddha. Pāli: sammāsambuddho