When we read the Buddha’s teachings, we may need to learn some new words. Here is the meaning of some of the words that may be new to you. If you are still unsure about a lot of words, you may want to install some dictionary software.

If you are looking for suttas on a certain topic, check out the subject index.

  • sacred fig

  • sage

    A sage is a very wise person. Sometimes it is used to talk about the Supreme Buddha or an Arahant.
  • Sakka

    Sakka is a deva (a god) who rules over the Heaven of the Four Great Kings and the Heaven of the Thirty Three Gods. Below is a statue of Sakka, lord of gods.
  • Sakyan

    The Sakyans were a clan of people who lived in and around Kapilavatthu. This was the clan of the Supreme Buddha’s father.
  • sal

  • Sāvatthi

    The Buddha spent much of his time in Sāvatthi, either in Jeta's Grove or the Eastern Park.
  • seclusion

    When we are secluded, we are separated from other people or things. If someone is living in seclusion, they are living alone.
  • sense faculties unguarded

    When we are not careful in the way that we look, listen, smell taste, touch, and think, then we are not protecting our minds.
  • sesame seed

  • seven treasures

    The seven treasures of a Wheel Turning Monarch are 1) the wheel treasure 2) the elephant treasure 3) the horse treasure 4) the jewel treasure 5) the woman treasure 6) the householder treasure 7) and the counselor treasure.
  • special knowledge

    Directly knowing the Supreme Buddha's teachings for oneself, not just understanding the words. Pāli: abhiñña
  • spiritual life

    This can mean specifically the practice of celibacy for monastics, or in general following the Buddha's teachings. (Pāli: brahmacariya)
  • stream-enterer

    A stream-enterer (sotāpanna) is someone who has removed the first three fetters. They will never be reborn in a bad destination. They will attain enlightenment within seven lives.
  • stūpa

    Stūpas (chaityas, tūpas, etc) are shrines built to hold relics of the Supreme Buddhas or disciples of the Supreme Buddha. This is Mirisawetiya Stupa in Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka.
  • Suddāvāsa

    Suddāvāsa means these five Brahmā worlds: Aviha, Atappa, Sudassa, Sudassi, and Akanitta
  • supreme goal of the spiritual path

    The supreme goal of the spiritual path is Nibbāna, the ending of the cycle of rebirths.