When we read the Buddha’s teachings, we may need to learn some new words. Here is the meaning of some of the words that may be new to you. If you are still unsure about a lot of words, you may want to install some dictionary software.

If you are looking for suttas on a certain topic, check out the subject index.

  • nāgas

    Nāgas are a type of non-human beings, like giant snakes. Sometimes humans who are very powerful are called nāgas. Sometimes elephants are called nāgas. Here is a five-headed nāga protecting the Supreme Buddha:
  • naked ascetic

    Naked ascetics (acela) believe that not wearing clothes increases spiritual power. They hold this and many other wrong views.
  • nimb

  • Nimmanarati

    This is the heaven of the devas (gods) that delight in creating things
  • Noble Eightfold Path

    The Noble Eightfold Path is the Buddha's instructions on attaining enlightenment. It is 1. Right View 2. Right Intention 3. Right Speech 4. Right Action 5. Right Livelihood 6. Right Effort 7. Right Mindfulness 8. Right Concentration
  • noble ones

    The noble ones (ariya) are humans or gods who have attained some stage of enlightenment. Specifically they are 1. stream entrant (sotāpanna), 2. once returner (sakadāgāmi), 3. non-returner (anāgāmi), and 4. arahant.
  • non-human

    Non-humans are beings like nāgās, gandhabbās, kumbhandhās, ghosts, and even devas and brahmas. The meaning can be general or specific in different situations.
  • non-returner

    A non-returner (anāgāmi)  is a human or god who has completely removed the five lower fetters and will not be reborn in the human world again before they attain Nibbāna.